Who We Are

The officers of the Shaker Heights Teachers' Association serve a two-year term. The next election for officers is scheduled for May, 2015.The Executive Board includes the officers, the immediate Past President, and the appointed Chairs of the standing committees. These appointments are made by the President.

The Building Representatives are elected each year. There shall be one Building Representative elected for each twenty members in each building with the minimum number of one Representative per building. To serve in a leadership position, a teacher must be tenured and have been an Association member for the three year immediately preceding the election.


President - John L. Morris


John L. Morris is a High School English teacher who has worked in Shaker since 1997. Prior to becoming president, he served as SHTA Publications Editor and previously as a High School Building Representative. Dr. Morris enjoys reading, writing, travelling and music. John and his wife, Maryann, live in the district and have two children in the Shaker Schools.

  • Building: High School
  • Phone: (216) 295-6033
  • E-mail: Morris_J@shaker.org

Vice-President - Matt Zucca


Matt Zucca is a second grade teacher at Fernway Elementary School. He has been with the Shaker Schools since 2000. Prior to serving as Vice-President, Matt was the Secretary of the SHTA and, before that, he was the Head Building Rep for Fernway School. He is also a member of the Association’s Investments Committee and Legal Aid Committee. He and his wife Tania live in the Shaker neighborhood of Fernway and have three children.

  • Building: Fernway
  • Phone: (216) 295-4692
  • E-mail: Zucca_M@shaker.org

Secretary - Darlene Garrison


Darlene E. Garrison is a sixth grade teacher at Woodbury Elementary where she teaches mathematics and science. She joined the Shaker Heights City Schools in 1994. Ms. Garrison is also a product of the Shaker City School District. Darlene has held leadership roles for the association for many years. Prior to serving as the Secretary of SHTA, she was the social chairperson, a member of the negotiating team and building rep for Woodbury. She is a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. and enjoys spending time with family/friends. Darlene lives in Shaker and her three children are in the Shaker City Schools.

  • Building: Woodbury Elementary
  • Phone: (216) 295-4997
  • E-mail: Garrison_D@shaker.org

Treasurer - Bill Scanlon


William Scanlon is a Science teacher at Shaker Heights High School. He joined the Shaker teaching staff in 1996 and, after serving as a building representative and head of the Policy committee, was elected Treasurer of the S.H.T.A. in 2005. When at school Mr. Scanlon enjoys his role as advisor to the Youth Ending Hunger/Interact student volunteer club. Bill received the SHTA President's Service Award in 2013. During his time off he enjoys basketball, hockey, camping and canoeing. Bill and his wife, Woodbury teacher Jackie Conway, have three children in the Shaker schools.

  • Building: High School
  • Phone: (216) 295-6296
  • E-mail: Scanlon_W@shaker.org

Executive Board




Phone (216)


Legal AidCathleen GrieshopBoulevard295-6337 Grieshop_C@shaker.org
LegislativeDavid KlapholzHigh School295-6126 Klapholz_D@shaker.org
MembershipChante Thomas-TaylorWoodbury295-5601 Thomas_C@shaker.org
PolicyTim KalanOnaway295-4970 Kalan_T@shaker.org
Professional Rights And Responsibilites/GrievancesMike SearsMiddle School295-4770 Sears_M@shaker.org
Public RelationsRobert BognarWoodbury295-4973 Bognar_R@shaker.org
Salary TenureJohn MorrisHigh School295-6033 Morris_J@shaker.org
SocialSelena BoyerFernway295-6041 Boyer_S@shaker.org
PublicationsAndrew GlasierHigh School295-6168 Glasier_A@shaker.org
Teacher EducationLisa Hardiman Mercer Elementary295-4867 Hardiman_L@shaker.org
Past PresidentRebecca ThomasRetireduse e-mail Thomas_R@shaker.org
EvaluationLena PaskewitzFernway295-4874 Paskewitz_L@shaker.org
Occupational Health & SafetyJames SchmidtHigh School 
Special EducationTito VazquezHigh School 
Support TeachersMargaret "Peg" RimedioFernway 

Representative Council


Jennifer Goulden head rep
Angela Anderson alt


Victoria Goldfarb  head rep
Andee Hassell alt


Donita Al Amin head rep
Jill DiPiero rep
Steve Smith alt


Nicole Cicconetti head rep
Cathy Richards alt


Paula Klausner head rep


Margaret "Peg" Rimedio head rep


Angela Goodrum head rep
Stacey DeYoung rep
Aquita Shepherd rep
Lee Appel alt


Erika Pfeiffer head rep
Jevette Collier rep
John Koppitch rep


James Schmidt head rep
Brian Berger rep
Aimee Grey rep
Jessica O'Brienrep
Joel Rathbone rep
Keith Szalay rep
Tod Torrence rep